The UN Global Climate Action Awards

Spread the love
Reading Time: 3 minutes

From February 8, 2021, sectors taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for the 10th-anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards; an annual award by United Nations Climate Change since 2011, to reward the world’s most innovative examples of action to tackle climate change.

This year’s awards will showcase people and projects taking bold and effective climate action in selected areas. This year also marks the 10th anniversary of the award programme and its efforts to achieve an improved ecosystem.
This year, a new category has been added to recognize more efforts by individuals at all levels to tackle climate change which is a much-needed responsibility to improve our ecosystem.
The UN Climate Change Executive Secretary Patricia Espinosa emphasizes on the need for a greater effort to curtail the “climate emergency” which the world has entered as she put it. More engagement from people in all areas of society is needed more than ever before.

The UN Global Climate Action Awards recognize leaders who are taking actions and paving the way for others to follow in.
The Awards have for example recognized transformational initiatives by governments and top industries like Microsoft and google among a host of others. Other past winners also include a restaurant with ecofriendly related menu, “Green” football club and an all-women solar team in Lebanon, and one of Africa’s first national environment and climate change investment funds.

Three categories will be considered for the awarding, they are;

1. Climate Neutral Now: rewarding deeds by various individuals that are achieving real results in tackling climate change.
2. Financing for Climate Friendly Investment: recognizing successful financial innovations for climate improvement.
3. Climate Leaders: recognizing transformational efforts by all forms of government that are striking positive effects.
Senior experts from various fields and countries who form the advisory panel will select the 2021 winners.

Kehinde Abiola have been a certified Google digital marketer, a pro blogger and a KICK-ASS Freelance Wizard for years. He’s on a mission to help individual make sustainable income doing legitimate works online and business owner improve their profit making. He’s the publisher and team lead at CCN. He’s the author of different training material at notable places including CCN. He’s the Web manager [Adim] and content producer at SOJWORLDNEWS to mention a few.

2 thoughts on “The UN Global Climate Action Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *